Ruling Lines

Ruling Lines

There are two ruling lines to the throne of Olubadan, Egbe Agba (civil) and Balogun (military), from where Olubadans are appointed on rotational basis to occupy the stool on the death of a monarch. The next to Olubadan and most senior on both lines are the Otun Olubadan and Balogun, who under the Western Nigeria Law are recognised as second class traditional rulers and are paid stipends. Others are the Osi Olubadan, Asipa Olubadan, Ekerin and Ekarun, as well as Otun Balogun, Osi Balogun, Asipa Balogun, Ekerin and Ekarun Balogun, while the Seriki and Iyalode, (“mother of the town”, female chief) are also members of the Olubadan advisory council.

The 11 high chiefs that formed the Olubadan-in-council, apart from the Seriki and Iyalode, are recognised as the traditional head of each of the 11 LGs in Ibadanland. It was learnt that the progenitors of Ibadan frowned on the involvement of the senior chiefs in partisan politics because of the salient neutral roles they were expected to play in their domains. For instance, they are appointed as presidents of customary courts, who are expected to adjudicate on matrimonial, land, boundary and other communal disputes.


Otun – Baale Line (Civil)

Balogun – Isoriki Line (Military)


Olubadan of Ibadanland Balogun of Ibadanland


Otun Olubadan of Ibadanland Otun Balogun of Ibadanland


Osi Olubadan of Ibadanland Osi Balogun of Ibadanland


Ashipa Olubadan of Ibadanland Ashipa Balogun of Ibadanland


Ekerin Olubadan of Ibadanland Ekerin Balogun of Ibadanland


Ekarun Olubadan of Ibadanland Ekarun Balogun of Ibadanland


Iyalode of Ibadanland Seriki of Ibadanland